Nominating Committee report June 2024

Since our last report we have been busy with the work that we have been tasked to do, meeting every two weeks regularly online. We have had a few clerks of SAYMA Monthly Meetings join us to hear about our work and to listen to the descriptions of the positions of responsibility still open and needing volunteers. We very much appreciate the time those individuals shared with us, and we invite anyone interested to please feel free to join us in future meetings. We would also like to invite Monthly Meetings that do not currently have representation on the committee to discern if there is someone in their respective meetings who would like to do this work. We are still seeking to fill several key positions of responsibility including the clerk of the Yearly Meeting Planning committee and Treasurer. SAYMA cannot operate for long without a treasurer. Kendall will be stepping down at the rise of yearly meeting sessions. Our annual sessions cannot take place without a clerk of the Yearly Meeting Planning Committee, except possibly virtually. Please contact any one of us if you are interested or know someone else who might be. We would be especially excited if any young adult friends would like to join the committee work or speak to us about any of the open positions of responsibility.

Below is the current slate of nominees we are bringing forward:

Carol Nickle (West Knoxville MM), continuing on the Handbook Committee 2024-2026.

Wood Bouldin (Quaker associate), continuing on the Ministry & Nurture Committee, 2024-2026.

Wood Bouldin (Quaker associate). continuing on the Handbook Committee, 2024-2026.

Laura Lane (Asheville MM) continuing as Junior Yearly Meeting clerk, 2024-2026.

Melissa Priest (West Knoxville MM) continuing as a member of the Ministry and Nurture committee 2024-2026.

Jennifer Dickie (Atlanta MM), as clerk of Yearly Meeting 2024-2026. Jennifer has many years of clerking experience and brings a rich knowledge of Quaker practice, anti-racism work, and energetic engagement in our yearly meeting.

Steve Livingston (Asheville MM), continuing as a member of the Yearly Meeting Planning Committee, 2024-2026.

Hank Fay (Berea MM), continuing as a member of the Yearly Meeting Planning Committee, 2024-2026.

Karen Morris (Atlanta MM), continuing as the clerk of the Finance Committee, 2024-2025.

Blake Burr (Memphis MM), continuing as the Yearly Meeting recording clerk, 2024-2025.

Kendall Ivie, West Knoxville MM Annie Black, Cookeville MM Pat Gailey, Berea MM Mark Gooch, Birmingham MM Julie Ewen, Atlanta MM Adrian Mehr, Memphis MM Chuck Jones, Chattanooga MM Morgan Murray, Asheville MM